I’ve recently noticed myself getting into a lot more Steam demos, seeing as they’ve been able to inflate my wishlist with games that look and feel awesome. While my wishlist games may be a bit broad (anywhere from a fast-paced roguelike to a game where you fly a paper airplane), one title from my wishlist, in particular, has stuck in my memory and is one I feel deserves much more attention than it currently has. Severed Steel, a fast-paced shooter from the team at Greylock Studio, has received a release date on Steam of September 17. Trust me, if you’re a fan of first-person shooters, this will be a must-play. Don’t believe me? Then I’ll let the trailer do the talking.

Trust me when I say that this is one of the most fun FPS demos I’ve played in many years. Severed Steel takes what is a basic concept of shooting enemies in mini-arenas, and gives it a serving of high-octane movement and the fan-favorite bullet time. All of this, combined with a stellar soundtrack that gets your blood pumping. Some would even call this 2021’s Most Stylish Game, and to that, I say it deserves every inch of that praise. From the neon-streaked locales to the site of bullets whizzing towards their target, artistic flair is felt in every aspect of the title.

And to think this is made by such a small team (in fact, I believe it’s just one developer) is an extraordinary feat. While the demo only gave a taste of what’s to come, I’m incredibly excited to see what’s made of the remainder of the experience. And with Severed Steel set to also launch on Switch, Xbox, and PlayStation consoles following the Steam release, so many will get to see all the passion oozing from this title.

Now, if you’ll excuse me I’m going to go flip three more times before blasting an opponent in the head, before grabbing his gun and tearing apart the rest of his squad.