Are you a fan of Shadow of the Colossus? How about heavy metal? You might think those two things are completely unrelated. And you would have been correct until Materia Collective released Battle with the Colossus. This new reimagining of the original Kow Otani soundtrack is definitely worth checking out. It was produced by Ferdk, who previously brought his talents to a similarly themed album for Nier: Automata.

In all honesty, I really wouldn’t have considered symphonic metal when imagining what a Shadow of the Colossus tribute album would sound like. But it definitely works here. The tracks have a very epic feel to them, and it really gets the blood pumping. They remind me a bit of something from the late 90s era of RPGs. Something like Final Fantasy VII or Legend of Dragoon.

The album features 11 tracks covering many of the fan favorites from the original composition. It’s a departure from Kow Otani’s style for sure, but in what I believe to be a good way. Although to be fair, I have only played through Shadow of the Colossus once, and wouldn’t call myself a die-hard fan. A great game for sure, just not one of my all-time favorites. With that said I think any fan should be able to appreciate what Ferdk has done here.

Alright, so assuming I have you interested you’re probably wondering where you can find the album? Materia Collective has provided this convenient link to all of the storefronts where it can be found. You can, of course, listen to it for free but I would greatly encourage you to spend the money to buy it. This work is solid and costs less than a movie ticket, so show your appreciation if you can afford it. No then with all of that out of the way, go listen to it for yourself and stop reading my nonsense.