Title: SteamWorld Quest

Available On: PC, MAC, LINUX, & Nintendo Switch

Publisher:  Thunderful Publishing AB

Developer: IMAGE & FORM Games

Genre: Turn-based role-playing card game

Official Site: https://imageform.se/game/steamworld-quest/

Release Date: May 31st, 2019 (PC, MAC) April 25th, 2019 (Nintendo Switch)

Where To Buy It: Steam, Nintendo, Retailers

This RPG Game made me feel like I was almost playing Octopath traveler as far as the story mechanics go. What makes this game unique and fun is its not your typical card-based RPG. You don’t feel like you’re in the middle of Hearthstone and getting bored or cheated because every move and your deck changes regularly. Playing the game, you feel more connected to your characters and team in Steam World. I started the game as Tarah and Thayne twins. The twins can steal anyone’s health and gold. They also happen to do a lot of physical damage in a fight. These characters had a fun look about them, and I felt they were cunning and exciting.

I completed the game in about eighteen hours, that seems to be the average a fifteen to twenty-hour game. Not bad for an indie game. The short time is one thing I enjoy about these types of games. The story is not original; however, the dialogue is witty and fun, which helps. The preface is that you are a robot and apart of a rebellion, out to save the world from an evil army — not that original except for the medieval and anime look of the robots.

When you begin you select a team of three each with there own unique skills, I mainly used Tarah and Thayne the twins, but I did also start with Orik and Copernica. Orik reminds me of a robotic Ronin, maybe like Master Splinter. Wise and silent keeps to himself and can kick ass without a second thought. Copernica is the underestimated mage. Copernica becomes more and more powerful throughout the campaign, and she receives some skill cards that would shock you. The deck alone for each character gives you intrigue.

Amazingly the deck selection in the game is not entirely automated. The game uses a turn-based card selection system one of the best I have seen so far. I am not a big fan of card-based RPG games it. I did enjoy myself in this one.

Steamworld Quest starts with a mission to solve a kidnapping. You pick your team and begin with side missions, a way to learn how to navigate through the game. However, these side missions become too comfortable and at one point, may even become boring. Many of them are puzzles and searching quests for treasure and but soon after you get to fight. Fighting is fresh because you can see your opponent before the cards appear on the screen so no surprises. The card-based battles unique doesn’t have a steep learning curve, and you can find what cards work best for you and your characters.

In other words, players get three sets of cards, Strike cars, give you basic attacks for your character, Upgrade cards which upgrade your team, and skill cards which cast the most powerful spells in the game. But there is a catch with the skill card. You must spend steam points that you earned when you use your upgrade and strike cards. This tactic is more useful than you think because it makes the player space out their most potent attacks when they need them most. Not only does it space your skill attacks out, but it forces you to build more strike and upgrade cards to your deck to play the skill card.

For Instance, your playable hand only has eight cards, and if you have all skill cards, then you won’t be able to play many of them, not without the steam points earned from a strike and basic card. You are making your hand utterly useless.

The simplicity of the deck build was more addicting and fun than the actual battles for me. Like I said, I don’t play many card-based RPG’s; though I do play many RPG’s with engaging characters depth and customization. Steamworld quest did lack its character depth and mainly was all about the boss battles, which is fine. But I lost what I enjoy about a game, customizing the equipment and treasures I find to suit characters. With only three slots for each character to hold an item, I didn’t play with it much. I am the type of player to explore and hoard rather than look for every fight.

Similarly, if any other players feel the same when the game, they shouldn’t be discouraged. Even though the detail isn’t as engaging as Skyrim or Fallout, my two favorite games, it is beautiful, and you always seem to find new places to scavenge. Though there were moments of annoyance when I tried to play against certain bosses, I felt the difficult might have spiked. Thus making it a little unfair, but I could accept that I might not be that good at card-based RPG’s.

Verdict: SteamWorld Quest has a beautiful setting and exciting storyline. Great characters with incredible abilities. Throughout the game, it’s hard to put the Switch down. Though I had my minor difficulties, Many card craving fans would enjoy this game immensely. Image & Form Games hit another Steamworld out of the park. Quest does its predecessor games, Dig, and Heist justice. Hopefully, the short equipment list doesn’t bother you in this fun and mechanically friendly card-based RPG.

Steam World Quest Review

  • Easy card mechanics

  • User-Friendly

  • Great Characters

  • Fun Storyline

  • Not enough graphic detail

  • Inconsistent game difficulty

  • Not enough equipment slots for character customization

Your Rating:User Rating: